We are now in Indonesia and Vietnam!
Check out our listings.

Malaysia's Friendliest Vacation Rentals and Homestay Booking Site

LGH Lets Go Melaka Blog Header

This Hidden Heritage In Melaka Will Make You A Nostalgic

This Hidden Heritage In Melaka Will Make You A Nostalgic Featured Image
  •   [email protected]
  •   Apr 14, 2016
When you mention Malacca, majority will relate it to the famous Jonker Street. What you might not know is that there is another street, emerging just as cool as Jonker Street running right next to it. Let us introduce you Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, or better known as Heeren Street

 

The street was typically known as “Millionaires Row” because it was once lived by only the richest Malaccan Families. 

When you visit the Heeren Street, do not miss out the opportunity to visit this double-storey building shop house: The No 8 Heeren Street Heritage Centre. It was built in the late 1700s during the Dutch Colonial Era. This double storey building was restored and conserved with the same building material from the Dutch Era by the Badan Warisan Malaysia. 



Source: cannibal.com



Source: cannibal.com


Whatever your reason of visiting Malacca, this is a must-visit place next to Jonker Street if you are passionate about wonderfully restored heritage building. 

No entrance fee required but you can make a donation to help in future restoration work. 

Opening Hours: 
11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. (Tuesday - Saturday)

Address: 
No 8, Heeren Street Heritage Centre,
8, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock,
75200 Melaka.



Source: cannibal.com


In commemoration of Malacca Historical Day, we would like to suggest a few accommodations nearby Heeren Street. You can easily make an online booking through the links given below :)


1. Lazy Homestay : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/6805/lazy-homestay-malacca

2. Skybook Homestay Malacca : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/6527/skybook-homestay-malacca

3. Kota Lodge Townhouse : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/2309/kota-lodge-townhouse

4. Kota Lodge Hotel : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/2304/kota-lodge-hotel

5. Cheng Ho Residence : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/6912/cheng-ho-residence

6. Jonker Homestay : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/94/jonker-homestay

7. Calanthe Artisan Loft : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/98/calanthe-artisan-loft

8. Margaret Homestay : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/6555/margaret-homestay

9. RJD Homestay 2 : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/258/rjd-homestay-2

10. Vinland Homestay : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/221/vinland-homestay

11. MyNest Homestay : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/5404/mynest-homestay

12. Hotel Da Som Inn : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/5444/hotel-da-som-inn

13. The Santo Inn : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/20/the-santo-inn

14. Amy homestay Melaka : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/1301/amy-homestay-melaka

15. Layang Layang Guest House : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/2325/layang-layang-guest-house

16. Jonker Vacation House : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/93/jonker-vacation-house

17. 15 Homestay : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/5437/15-homestay

18. Klick Klock Homestay : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/3337/klick-klock-homestay

19. Prima Hotel Melaka : http://letsgoholiday.my/Listing/Detail/6742/prima-hotel-melaka